Post Format

The Mountaineers Came Through

1 comment

“OMG!”  Was all I could muster up after we finally beat Kentucky earlier this evening.  Then I threw out the “and that’s what your state gets from our football team three years ago!”  Not really sure when it was, but I vaguely remember through my wine induced memory watching Kentucky take a big win from our beloved Mountaineers a few years back, costing us yet another chance at a National Championship.   I’m a die hard WVU football fan but I’m a fair weather fan when it comes to WVU basketball.  This season however, they won my heart.  How couldn’t they though?  DeSean Butler’s smile and Mazzullo’s football style.  What a season, and what a fun coach we have!

Tonight I watched the first half while at home with my kids, then my husband came home from a house party to watch the second half with me.  I’ve never seen anyone so nervous in my life.  He was on the chair, then on the floor, then on the chair, then back on the floor doing some kind of weird move like downward dog into cobra, and he doesn’t even do Yoga……Then his hand on his head,  then off his head, then arms in the air……while I nervously pretended to “clean” so that I wasn’t  in the room for all the drama when we were starting to pull away. It was like a dream come true, yet I was afraid to watch. Every  mountaineer fan knows exactly what I’m talking about…LOL….When we were sure we would take the win at one and a half minutes left we  grabbed the kiddies and ran up the street to watch it at my friend Rob and Shannon’s with a room full of people.  I literally threw on my Ugg’s, threw a kid over a shoulder and ran up the street to catch the aftershock.  Doc Joe met me with a glass of really nice red wine, which didn’t seem that appealing having the stomach flu, but I drank it anyway…

We all held our breath, just as Mountaineer fans always do when it comes down to a do or die, (and usually we die).  When the lead dropped to only 6 with 33 seconds left to go I thought for sure they were gonna take us down, that’s just usually how it goes.  They hadn’t hit 3’s all night and I could just feel the tables start to turn.  I felt everyone’s eyes on me, the comment “you better not have brought any bad luck with you” was made the moment I walked in the door, which I couldn’t get out of my head.   I had actually thought to myself, mmm, I wonder if I’m gonna jinx the game if I leave the floor of my own living room and head up to Rob’s for the applause..

Well, we all know how it ended tonight….The Mounties hopes are high for a National Championship….can it be???  I can’t wait to see….we’re taking the RV to Indy!!!

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

CategoryUncategorized

1 Comment so far Join the Conversation

  1. I was just trying to find my lucky spot in the living room! That’s what us sports fans do sometimes: crazy stuff!
    DC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

