Post Format

Live in the moment

1 comment

When it started to downpour today, my son started freaking out!  Last night there was a tornado warning and he was doing hail mary’s in Target, praying for his life, LOL.  This was a new thing, and little did I know he was even Catholic.  He was literally shaking from his fear… Today I decided to help him get past his fear.  Fear is just fantasized events appearing real I told him.  I helped him to see one cool thing each about thunder, lightning and rain.  Thunder is a beautiful sound, and it gives us the chills, so I told him to embrace that.  It’s loud and makes us take notice.  Lightning is just another form of God’s artwork.  Since Vance is an artist he of course related to that.  And the rain is nurturing the earth, the plants, our flowers, etc.  Vance liked his idea better that it was just God peeing on the world.

I dared him to run out to the backyard with me and just stand in the rain for a moment.   I thought it would be a great way to tap into my inner child and to show Vance some fun.  I wanted him to feel the storm, and to show him that nothing would happen. At that same moment of my invitation my Market Umbrella blew across the back yard, flipped three times and hit our Rover.  Vance shook his head and that’s when I knew I had to accept my own dare so I stripped off my shoes and out I went.  My 2  1/2 year old and 8 year old just stood at the doorway and looked at me like I was crazy.  Maybe so, but as I stood there in the wind looking up at the sky in the pouring down rain, I didn’t care.  It was exhilirating!  I dare you to bring out your inner child this week, and if you have kids do it with them.   If you don’t have kids, do it anyway.  Find a part of you that you’ve lost or didn’t know you had!

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

CategoryUncategorized

1 Comment so far Join the Conversation

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

