Post Format

Aspire or Expire

Leave a Reply

Seriously, what is my problem?  I can not sit still.  I have Larry Dolly syndrome (my dad).    Maybe I’m starting to feel time ticking.  I can’t stand the thought of growing older ungracefully, or not having done the things I’ve always wanted to do.  I definitely don’t want to die with any regrets.

It was weird, today on Facebook, via my iphone, I kept seeing posts to a guy named Matt, who had passed away.  He was someone that I was “friends” with, but I didn’t know him from Adam.  It was so bizarre!  Everyone was still posting on his wall after they found out he had died.  There were posts like R.I.P. Matt, we will miss you Matt, your mother will miss you, etc.  It was heart wrenching and I wanted to type something, but I didn’t.  I was so bothered by the whole thing, but just felt better about not typing anything at all.  He looked liked he was in his 40’s maybe, and it sounded unexpected.  For some reason it really struck me hard.  I just sat in my car and digested it all for a few minutes after coming across the posts.

I know I’m healthy, but honestly I could get hit by a truck and killed tomorrow.  That’s morbid, but we all know it’s true.  At what point do you just go all balls out and do that thing that’s been scratching at you, or when do you decide to just let it go.  I’m definitely not old enough yet to let anything go physically, but I will be one day.  Tick.  Tock.

Reading things like that just motivate me even more to keep on keepin’ on, and to take things head on.  Whether they be mental, physical, or emotional, or a totally new venture, or something I didn’t do so great the first time around.

What is that one thing that you’ve always wanted to do?  The thing that’s eating away at you?  The thing that makes you feel alive but you haven’t taken the time to explore?  I’ve heard so many people say they wish they would have written a book, taken private dance lessons, played piano, studied this or that in school, traveled more, learned a second language, etc. etc. etc.  It’s somewhat offends my inner Pisces.  “Hey, you’re still alive,” I wanna yell.  But I don’t.  Unless your eighty and using a walker, you’ve got no excuses.  At least that’s how I feel.  We only live once.  And it’s your life, to design and create as you wish.  Don’t let others’ ideas of what your life should be like influence whether or not you go after what it is you want.  Believe in yourself, whether your task be big or small.  Are you going to aspire?  Or will you expire?

I’d love to hear your story if you have gone after the thing that you most wanted, after society’s expiration date.  What makes you tick?

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

