Post Format

My Best Zoolander!

5 comments

Yet another full circle moment happened this week.   This was one of the things that I said I was gonna go and do, so I put it on my goal list for 2011, and started giving full intention toward it in the month of December.  A few months ago, I toyed with the idea of signing back up with my old modeling agency in Pittsburg, that is if they would have me.  So two weeks ago yesterday, I went in and met with my old Agent and they were pretty glad to have me back.  Richard, my agent, said, “there’s more work for a thirty-something than for young twenty-somethings in our market today.”  So I signed on the dotted line, figuring I’d get a call sometime in February, since January is a pretty dead time for advertising and marketing campaigns.

I got my first call two weeks later, and was booked the next day in Pittsburgh for a shoot on the South Side.  I welcomed the challenge although I hadn’t lost the extra potato candy weight from xmas.  It was only a pound, but I think we  know how that works in the modeling industry, lol.

The studio I shot in was amazing, with beautiful curved woodwork, but much set up like a high-end boys club, featuring a pool table, and bar area.  Bob, the head photographer, was great.  He remembered me from a shoot I did with him for a spa ten years ago.  So I felt right at home immediately.  To be perfectly honest, I felt much more comfortable this time around.    I started modeling when I was twenty-one, and quit when I was twenty-six.   I had no idea then how to network or how to be myself.  I was so shy that it was easy to let other models, the camera, or big-wig advertising execs intimidate me.  I honest to god hated modeling then.  It was great money but it was pure torture for me on so many levels.

This time I went about it with a totally different approach.  Now, that I know who I am, and love who I am, I felt 100% comfortable.  I even had the added pressure of doing my hair, makeup and wardrobe, which back then I never could have pulled off.  But since then, after owning my boutique and doing wardrobe for hundreds of women, and taking on a hobby of learning new ways to do my eyes and hair, I had it all covered.  This time was fun, and I just totally went with it.  I didn’t really have to pretend too much for the role either, which was great.  Steve, the head Ad exec looked at me and said, “So the campaign is about a mom, and she is a bad ass.   She doesn’t really care what anybody else thinks.  She is gonna get on that beachcomber, and ride that thing in three-inch heels, not caring that dinner isn’t on the table.  She is living in the moment, and is full of life.  Do you think you can do that?”  I just laughed, and said, “Yeah, I think I can handle that.”

So I spent the next two hours on an old-school-looking, powder blue bike, with the big handle bars, giving biker looks and killer stares, and it was a blast!  It was the perfect way to re-enter the modeling arena.  I felt much different leaving that shoot, than any other before.  I went up there thinking it wasn’t really a big deal, and had told three of my really good friends about it.  They all called to follow-up with me, and one had even left me a message the morning of to tell me to break a leg, and that she was really proud of me for going after this again.  The call brought a tear to my eye. (Which could have been due to PMS).  The support from them was so sincere, and just plain ol’ sweet.  I love them for that.

But the moral of my little story is this:  If you’ve tried something before and it didn’t feel right, but it’s still itching at you somehow, I suggest you go for it again.  Especially if you’ve given some time and space from it.  You never know, it may just be what you need.   Go. Do. Be.                   (P.S.  I’m still giving Joy her Blue Steel lessons.)

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

5 Comments Join the Conversation

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

