Post Format

The Power of Numbers: Goal Setting

4 comments

Goal setting is a huge key, if not the key to success. I know, I know, we’ve probably all heard or read it a million times; track your progress with numbers!  I can honestly say that over the past few years I haven’t really written down any goals, and didn’t have numbers to back them up.  (Until recently.)  I went to a PSI seminar (which I highly recommend) the last weekend of August and there we set a 90-day goal.  Mine was to blog once a month for 12 weeks.  I added to my goal of hitting a certain amount of reads.  I reached both goals, and actually wrote 18 blogs and had 200 more reads than the goal I had set.

Was I shocked?  Yes.  Was I ecstatic?  Yes.  It’s not like my goal was to swim across the English Chanel, but it was a goal set and a goal reached.  It’s given me the confidence that it really does work.  Had I not done this, and stuck with it, I would be in the same boat now that I was in last fall.   I also believe that setting some attainable goals are what lead to huge success.  I’m also adding to my goal setting the approach of doing five things a day, no matter how big or small, geared toward reaching my goal.

Let’s take weight loss for instance.  If you don’t go the extra effort, your diet is sabotaged.  You’ve gotta count every calorie that goes into your mouth, and track the time and effort that’s put out in the gym.  Period.  There’s no other way around it.  If you’ve got a road trip and don’t prepare ahead of time, you’re going to be eating whatever the closest fast food restaurant or gas station has to offer.  Pack a cooler.  Or do what I did on my trip last summer to Loretta Lynn’s Ranch.  I took a college size fridge and plugged it into my car outlet.  I know it’s extreme, but do you know how happy and great I felt eating clean food that whole week instead of eating vendor food (at the event) or going to subway twice a day.  I had organic chicken, fruit, and even sushi that I stopped and bought at Trader Joe’s in Nashville.

If I can reach these small goals, then I don’t see I can’t set goals in any category of my life and succeed.   There is seriously power in numbers, and something magical about writing that number down and posting it somewhere visible so that you can see it daily.  It really works….try it.

Cheers,

Shannon

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

4 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. You are so so right! I give myself a list of things to do everyday, and when i am able to atually tick items off- i feel as if i have produced! I deserve another day on this planet- haha.
    Re: Calorie Counting….I have actually downloaded an application on my phone, which i complete throughout the day…… counting my calories. I know what i need to stick to, and i work around it.
    BUT my goal is to only do it Monday to Friday- so almost seems okay to be obsessed, but still rather have some balance.
    xx

    Reply

    • Yes I get the partially obsessed calorie counting deal…however (the ex-personal trainer is me has to say this)…you can completely undo your caloric deficit of your week by eating not so great sat-sun…..just keep those days in check without calorie counting and stop eating when you’re full and you will probably be just fine, all depending on what your goals are!! Good luck and lemme know if you ever need any tips or low-cal recipes, I’m full of them, lol.

      Reply

  2. One of my goals is to try to keep up with all of your blogs, and I missed this one the first time through, ironically enough!
    Well done.
    DC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

