Post Format

Writing As Meditation

4 comments

It’s been almost six days and twenty-three hours since I’ve written my last blog….but who’s counting? (I hope the blog-a-dayers aren’t reading this for they will know I’ve fallen already) I realized today that I just wasn’t seeming like myself, and had fallen into a bit of a depression. (Not real depression—probably just a slump.)  Then it hit me!  That’s what is wrong—I haven’t done my daily writing meditation for almost a week!  That was painful just to think about.   Recently I’ve discovered just how therapeutic blogging has become for me, almost more so than real meditation (which I still stink at) or doing cardio.  It’s my time to block everything out except my keyboard–the phone, the door, the kids, the dog (oh, wait, I don’t have a dog) the everything—and just say what’s on my mind at that given moment.  True and utter therapy.  Better than a prescription any day.

My husband even looked at me tonight and said, “I really miss your blogs Shannon.”  And coming from him, a very successful writer and publisher himself, means the world to me.  He said he could tell in my demeanor that I hadn’t been writing.  Boy, he was reading me like a book.  After that compliment what was a girl to do but write.  Right?  So I am in bed, in my robe, doing what I love most when I need inner-peace…writing.

I must admit I’ve used the majority of my brain cells today making business calls so this blog is definitely written at a second grade level.  And my creativity was used while making my photographical debut in my new photo studio in the basement of my designer denim boutique.  I got to spend a few hours shooting a model wearing items from my store–it was so much fun to be behind the camera and down on one knee trying to get the right shot.  Oh how my roles have changed, lol.

Well darling…. today this is short but sweet.  And as Scarlett O’Hara says, “Tomorrow is another day.”  So goodnight for now, it’s almost time for me to turn into a pumpkin.

Namaste,

Shannon

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

4 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. I thought about you this morning actually! Must admit, sometimes it is really hard to have to find the time to actually get around to this….and to be quite honest, as soon as i get into it all, i battle to find a way out. So my day somewhat falls back!!
    Nice to have heard from you girl.
    xx

    Reply

  2. Thanks, I feel like I was in a slump too. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for not letting the kids have a dog…. Yet.
    DC

    Reply

  3. Get a Soft Haired Wheaten Terrier. Its time…..Most amazing dog I have ever been around. It’s coat is as soft as a synthetic blanket (the really, really soft ones) and it does not shed a single hair.

    Oh and I noticed on the blog-a-day but kept my mouth shut.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

