Post Format

Vegas…..baby…

Leave a Reply

I just realized that I haven’t been outside in 48 hours, except to hail a cab from the Hard Rock Hotel to the Luxor hotel in Las Vegas.  I was here for a fashion convention for the first part of the week, and added two days to stay here to work on my memoir that I’ve been writing for the last four years.

As I sit in my hotel, burned out on writing about my life I contemplate what to do here, alone. I’m also kind of laughing for chosing this town to take solace and write.  I should have gone to the Caribbean.  But magically enough, I have gotten tons accomplished by locking myself in my suite and editing away.

I’m probably the only person here solo.  Which just makes me laugh to myself.  The rooms were so cheap they were basically begging me to stay.  Every which way I turned I was handed tickets for half off this or buy one get one free off that.  February is definitely a great month to stay here for nothing.

Do I go see Cirque or another great show?  Carrot Top is still (ten years later) playing in my hotel.  I’m not so sure I can stomach his tacky jokes though.  The Pisces in me says go down, pull out some cash and learn how to play a new game.  Roulette?  Craps?  The sensible side of me says play Blackjack, you already know you’re good at it after having two glasses of wine.  But is gambling at all really that sensible?

I say what isn’t sensible is sitting in this room the rest of the night, alone.  So I’m off to explore, people-watch, and maybe make some money, maybe lose some money.  Either way, I’m in Vegas one last night, where people are living “the American dream.”

It’s hard to stay balanced when you’re in a place packed with smoke, alcohol, nakedness and all night parties.  So I’m looking forward to heading home, breathing some clean air, and cooking my own meals again–and being on a schedule. I can’t wait to see the sun.  Back home it has been 70 degrees and sunny, and here not quite as warm.  Why does that always happen to me when I travel?

Wish me luck, I’m about to roll some dice……I know…I’ve fallen off my balance beam.

 

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

