Post Format

Take the Leap?

2 comments

Being on the fence isn’t a good place to be, we’ve all been there before.  Do you dare take the risk of trusting your gut feelings?  Or do you stay where you are at and figure out a way to be satisfied.  But if you do that, you are left wondering “what if?”  I’m at that crossroads with a few of my businesses.

For instance, I financed a pub for my brother sixteen months ago and he’s done a pretty good job at turning it around (the former owners had run it into the ground.)  It’s two floors, the top one is the only floor open–your typical smoky atmosphere with draft beer, fun patrons and good times.  The bottom floor–a once popular old-school Italian Grille, is just sitting there waiting for someone to give it some love.

I’ve been on the fence, under the fence, and have straddled the fence in what to do about it.  Do we invest a few more thousand dollars in kitchen equipment, freezers,  chairs, bar stools, etc. to bring this baby back to life?  As I sit and ponder how this will affect my life financially and time-wise, I can’t help but hear the voice of a friend that said, “You remind me of the woman in Hello Dolly,” at first I thought that was cute since Dolly is my maiden name.  But then went on to say, “She has a business card for everything, just like you.”  Then I was somewhat mortified.

Opening up yet another business–even though it’s an extension to an existing one, is another card on the table.  But business-wise it makes sense.  The rent is already paid for by the upstairs pub, along with phone, cable, and garbage.  So it really boils down to time and marketing.  It could prove to be a cash cow at the end of the day for only a small investment.

I had the last heart-to-heart with my younger brother a few weeks ago about pursuing the foodie venture.   As I gave him the ol’ stink eye and said, “Are you sure about this?  Why don’t we just sell it all and move on?”   I could see his demeanor change as he started to tell me how much he loved his pub and that it’s finally starting to make money and that it’s what he wants to do forever.  His passion was the dagger in my heart.

Unfortunately, we can’t predict the future so we eventually just decided to take the plunge.  He sold me on his belief.  He believes in it, and I’ve always believed in him.

We had intellectualized for months over all the possibilities on whether to do it or not–what to name it, what kind of food to sell, what kind of decor we wanted.    I’m enjoying the creative process (because creating is what I do best) of opening up another venue, a smoke-free, kid friendly place right down the street from the local softball and hockey playing fields. Where you can pop right in after a game, grab a loaded burger, a salmon spinach salad, or home-cut fries and a cold beer, and talk about the one you hit out of the park, or the one that got away…..

As of now we are still working on the name, but if you live in Motown make sure you stop in sometime after Mid-April and check us out, located downstairs at 669 Madigan Ave. in First Ward.

Cheers!

Shannon

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

2 Comments Join the Conversation

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

