Post Format

Roast That Pepper…

2 comments


Well, I’m not one for giving cooking lessons, but this one is short and sweet–and pretty fun too.  Have you ever roasted  a pepper?  Roasted peppers are truly divine and I love them straight up or served with a hearty protein like filet or chicken breast.  This is actually easily achieved if you have a gas range–so here goes.

1) Turn up the open flame to medium-high and throw the pepper straight on the burner. (Or grill.)

2) One the side it’s one is charred–preferably black, then rotate it–keep rotating it until the whole thing is nothing but black.

3) Get an old-school brown, mini-paper bag and put the pepper in.

4) Roll down the top of the bag so it’s sealed shut.  You want the pepper to keep “steaming” so that the skin comes away from the flesh of the pepper.  Leave it in there for about ten minutes.

5) Take the pepper out of the bag and over the sink use your bare hands (or put on gloves if your picky) and gently exfoliate the skin off (it will come right off with hardly any work if you burned them enough.)

6)   After I’ve washed the black off my hands only I break the pepper apart and pull off the stem using my hands to get the seeds out.  I try not to run the pepper under the water because it dilutes the taste of both the sweetness of the pepper and the char.

***If it’s doable, use a grill instead, charcoal being the best!

 

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

2 Comments Join the Conversation

  1. Are all the nutrients of the bell pepper retained? they have a ton of vitamin C (more than some oranges due to oxidation/sitting on market shelves too long)

    I’d hate to destroy the purpose they serve to my body. 🙂 although, I’m sure they are pretty tasty.

    Does it have to be a paper bag or can it be a plastic zip lock? I would think the school bag smell/flavor would blend in…yes, smell the bag…the paper has a distinct odor.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    Reply

    • That’s a good question….i would think yes because the inside is barely touched. i think that scorched part–that def lost all the nutrients–is pulled off. I think the rest of it should still have vitamins in it! I hope so!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

