Post Format

Seize the Day

Leave a Reply

Even though it was a rainy, dreary day today, things were looking really sunny for me and Amanda.  We had a great business appointment together today, it was everything it should have been.  Afterward, we decided to head over to Sargasso for lunch.   I was starving!  My stomach was growling so loud at our previous appointment I just knew everyone could hear it.  It sounded like a roaring lion, I’d never heard it this ferocious before, quite embarrassing.

We sat down at lunch and I was excited since Amanda had never eaten at Sargasso, I couldn’t wait to tell her my favs…but as soon as my butt hit the seat and I opened my menu she said, “I can’t eat.”

“What?”  I looked up.  Did she forget she had another appointment?  I wondered.

“I can’t eat.”  Then I saw her pop two blue pills into her mouth.  I was confused.  “I’m going to have a seizure.”  She stately boldly and gave me a look of “take charge.”  I knew what it meant and kind of what I was supposed to do because she had briefed me on how to handle this situation a few times over the past two years.

“I need to find a dark place.  And you need to call my mom and tell her to come here now.”

Oh shit, was my first thought, followed by, I’ve got to step up this plate and get her out of this dining room full of people.

“Follow me, there’s probably no one in the back room, that’s for private dinners.”  I knew this place well.  We stood up and she followed me, I grabbed our server and whispered, “My friend feels a seizure coming on, and we need privacy and a dark room.  Can we go in the back dining room?”

“Of course!”  She said and led the way, looking very worried.

I called her mother and told her to come immediately.  Amanda requested to just lay on her back and to find something to put over her eyes.  Sometimes calmness and darkness will ward off a seizure in her case, so that’s what we were attempting to do.   The waitress went to find clean towels but I looked over and found a tightly wrapped used food encrusted waiters apron.

“Um, this looks dirty but it’s black and it’ll keep out the light.”  I suggested.  “And it smells, but maybe that will take your mind off of this,”

“Don’t care, give it to me.”  She giggled.  “I’m sure I’ve smelled worse.”

The waiter walked back in, the staff was so helpful, asking what they should do and if they should have a doctor from Med Express, which, thank gaud, was connected to the restaurant, come over.

Amanda said no, which left me at the wheel.  Oh, crap.  I always wanted to be a doctor, but not like this.  I squatted down beside her and just tried to get her to breathe long deep breaths and to think of relaxing things. Waves, birds, clouds, all that B.S. –cause at that moment it was B.S. I know she wasn’t sitting on the beach somewhere watching the sand get covered in foamy sea water.  “Pretend like you’re floating on a cloud” is much more easier said than done when your brain waves are miss firing and you’re trying to not think about that!

She started to moan and squirm and I knew she was trying to fight it off but was losing the battle.  The waiter came back in and asked again about getting a doctor.

“Amanda!  Do you want a doctor?”  I was starting to sweat, knowing that her seizures are Grand Mal, which is the King of seizures.  Deadly even.   She actually went under brain surgery a few years ago, so this was beyond my realm of cutting a pig open in 10th Grand biology class.   “I don’t care,” she answered.

“Yes, please go get someone.”  I hadn’t practiced CPR in over a decade, the last time I was around it, it was used on me when I was choking on a massive piece of shrimp at a local restaurant.  Don’t you use a spoon in this situation?  OH MY GOD!  Her moaning was getting louder and I was losing her.  She wasn’t answering any of my questions.  Her mom walked in right at the same time a Physician’s Assistant did.

“Did you call for someone?” The PA asked.

“No, we are good.”  Her mother said.  Like this kind of stuff happens every day.  She was so calm and collected.   “I can handle this, she doesn’t like to be around people during this, it makes it worse.”

The PA nodded, walked out and quietly shut the door behind her.   Her mom sat down by her side and started talking to her and trying to get her to relax and then it happened.  She went into a full-blown seizure, just like you would imagine, but worse.  She seized for a good five minutes, and at one point she was literally wrapped around a wine cooler, which was kind of funny because she doesn’t drink.  Nor does her mother, who also found it quite comical in this horrifying situation.   Her mom tried to find a little humor in it all which made me admire her so much more.

We rolled Amanda on her right side and just sat with her until it was over.  I rubbed her leg and guarded the glass in the wine rack from her 4-inch-pointy boot heels.

It was more than scary.  But the even scarier part is that she used to have these kind of seizures 3 to 4 times a week until she started taking Lifepak Nano Vitamins, which have helped her immensely.  This was her first seizure in a year, which Amanda attributes the lack of her seizure activity to her supplementing with these life-changing vitamins.  Her recovery from these types of seizures used to take two weeks, and she actually made it to our meeting this evening at 6pm, less than 5 hours after this horrific episode.  I couldn’t believe it when she walked through the door.  I was stunned because when she left the restaurant she had a screaming headache…and should have been in bed.

Today could have been tragic, but thankfully it wasn’t.  This will resonate with me forever, though, because it solidifies why I promote some of the best products and the best science in the world.  Ones that do make a difference, ones that do change lives.  Ones that I believe, do save lives.

Amanda I love you, don’t ever scare me like that again.  🙂   But if you do, I will be there to catch you if you fall.

 

http://www.shannoncoombs.nsedreams.com  (help me spread the word)

Live Younger Longer

 

 

 

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

