Post Format

Weight Loss Wars…How to Win

1 comment

Most of us struggle with our weight.  Whether it be 5 pounds for fifty, the majority of Americans need to shred some fat.  I’m sure many have made the same annual New Years Resolution of losing the weight that they put on the previous year.  Typically, that is mine as well, but not this year.  Why?  Because I knew I would fail at it.  We left our East Coast home on December 29th, to have an extended stay in Laguna Beach for six weeks.  Admittedly, this has its weight loss perks and it’s weight loss challenges.

Here the weather has been amazing, giving no excuses to go out and run at any given time of the day, as long as I have a sitter or husband here to watch the kids since I’m home schooling them while on my staycation.  Which is enough to drive any sane person into eating an entire tub of Karmel Sutra Ben and Jerry’s ice cream!

Let’s not forget about the forty restaurants in a five block range from our house, almost all highly Zagat rated with food to die for!  So yes, my extra five pounds from last year is still where it was, on my ass!   Of which somewhat feels like a pillow-pet.  I’m trying not to be too hard on myself, I knew the wining and dining thing was part of the deal out here, we are in the magazine and promoting business and it’s part of why we came.  I have enjoyed every minute of it.  I’ve warded off any more extra poundage with kicking my workouts into a much harder gear.  Trying new routines are great for keeping your metabolism guessing and getting you out of your same workout rut and therefore burning more calories.

So far I’ve attempted a Bikram Yoga class (100 plus room temp and burns 500-1000 calories a class), a Brazilian Booty class by a Brazilian dance goddess, Spin and running.  I’ve balanced some negative calorie days (eating perfect) with positive calorie days (too much wine and raw fish.)  So I’ve been pretty even.  But, if you wanna lose weight, the first thing you have to know is how to count calories and on average how many you are burning by just existing.  This way you can be negative in your caloric intake to shed those pounds.

This is a great way to calculate how many calories you should eat to hit your weight loss goals in the time you want to hit them:

http://www.healthyweightforum.org/eng/calculators/calories-required/

I have a few rules on getting you off on the right foot!

1) Figure out what your main vices are and get rid of them now!!!  A.k.a. the things in your cabinet that you can’t stay away from when you are mindlessly eating!  Mine is peanut butter and chocolate.  I purged my house of them yesterday so not to sabotage myself.

2) Eat whole foods!!!  If it comes in a box or a can, DON’T eat it!

3) Do cardio first thing in the morning on an empty stomach–still have your coffee but only use Stevia as a sweetener, NO SUGAR in it, and opt for a splash of 40 calorie a cup Almond Milk.  The caffeine will wake you up and help to burn extra calories during your workout.  When you workout on an empty stomach like this it allows you to burn almost twice what the calories burned say on your piece of cardio equipment because you have been in starvation mode since your last meal, which should be dinner from the night before. (And hopefully eaten by 8:30 pm)

4)  Keep a food journal.  Write down EVERYTHING YOU EAT! Just buy a small one that fits in your pocket or purse, anything larger and you will forget it exists!  Or use an app on your phone to track it!

Aim for -500 calories a day to lose one pound a week!  One pound of true fat is a lot of fat, and that’s what you want to burn, not muscle.  Muscle is hard-earned and precious and if you aren’t eating a diet high in clean protein and low carb then your body will go for your muscle first when in starvation mode!  Eat lean protein 5 to six times a day, 15-25 grams a sitting!!! (Chicken, egg whites, light fish, lean turkey and beef, soy if your vegetarian).

If anyone needs help with this, take a pic of your food journal after a few days and I’ll evaluate it for you!

Good luck!

P.S. Be honest with yourself, write EVERYTHING down that you eat!!

Posted by

I'm a entrapeneur, working-mom, fashionista, health freak and go-to-girl. I tell it like it is. I blog about family life, diet and exercise, traveling and fashion while raising a beautiful family and learning to laugh at the many twists and turns my daily life gives birth to....I'm also turning 40 nine months from today... let's see how this journey goes.

1 Comment so far Join the Conversation

  1. Pingback: Achieving Your Weight Loss Goals | Mrfuzzybear.com

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

